Barn owl courses with Barn Owl Trust in Devon

I invested in a two day course on barn owls with the Barn Owl Trust and was glad I did – not least because I then had an excuse for a holiday in Devon !

Before the course I hadn’t found evidence of barn owl for a while and was beginning to think I was getting a bit rusty – I’m happy to say that I now feel really confident.

Here are some photos of the materials presented during the course which I found helpful.

Notice how similar the barn owl eggs are to stock dove eggs (below).  Stock dove eggs are usually shiny and barn owl eggs are matt in texture, but old eggs are difficult to tell apart.

Feathers can be a helpful clue:

Here are some old pellets – you can see that only bones and dust remain.

This final picture shows a barn owl nest debris, consisting of compacted pellets.

Comments are closed.