2013 – Year of Bryophytes (Mosses and Liverworts)

I’m delighted to say I’m now officially an FSC Biodiversity Fellow and will be studying mosses and liverworts throughout 2013 – this is my year of bryophytes.    I’m really keen to finally get into this neglected group of plants.  It’s more than just wanting to know what I’m looking at, it’s a whole new group of species and there are thousands of them – it’s a whole new challenge !  I’ll be studying with Martin Godfrey, one of the best bryologists in the country, and have also signed up for a couple of additional courses with Martha Newton through FSC.  Hopefully, I’ll also be able to get out with other experts as there are a couple of local groups operating near me.  Really looking forward to it !

 

 

Comments are closed.