Bryophytes and the NVC course, FSC Rhyd-y-creuau

This course was the main part of my training for this year – after going on the bryophyte weekend in the spring, I returned to Betws-y-coed for a full week of instruction in bryophyte identification, concentrating on species important in the National Vegetation Classification.  I already do a lot of NVC survey so learning the bryophytes as well as the vascular plants would be the icing on the cake of a really good survey.

The course was led by Martha Newton so I knew to expect full and challenging days out in terrain like this:

valley north of Carneddau

I was not disappointed.  We slipped around in woodland, squelched in bogs, clambered on riverside rocks and clung to the base of cliffs in search of a huge variety of mosses and liverworts.  The Black Ladders – the cliffs on the north face of Carnedd Dafydd – were especially spectacular (and scary).  I saw and identified well over 100 species this week and have copious notes and specimens to help me in the future.  Well worth the investment 🙂

Comments are closed.