Local Wildlife Site Monitoring: Eccleston Top Dam (2013)

This is a rather attractive pond south of the big new housing development in Eccleston.  It’s publicly accessible and seems popular with local anglers.  Here’s a photo so you can see what I mean:

Eccleston Top Dam

I went to see whether the habitats and species for which the Local Wildlife Site was designated were still there and am pleased to report that everything seems in good condition, although I couldn’t find the unimproved grassland I was promised :-/

As a bonus, I saw a brown hawker dragonfly which is a new species for me.

Many local authorities and Wildlife Trusts are short of people to survey Local Wildlife Sites and would be very grateful for new volunteers.  Why not offer to help out – you get to visit sites which are local to you and nice for wildlife as well, couldn’t be better !

Comments are closed.