Preparing for the National Harvest Mouse Survey 2013/14

I missed out on the first year of this survey, but I’m all signed up and raring to go for the second year, which will be in November/December 2014.  Harvest mice are on the edge of their range in Cheshire, with most recent records for Great Britain being below the Severn-Humber line in the warm south-east of England.

Red records are post-2000, yellow are pre-1980 and orange are inbetween.

Red records are post-2000, yellow are pre-1980 and orange are inbetween.

So it’s particularly important that we search for harvest mice here and the National Harvest Mouse Survey provides the perfect opportunity to do that and be part of a major national effort at the same time.

Image taken from mammal society website

The survey is being organised by the Mammal Society – find out more here.  Each volunteer is assigned a 10km grid square and asked to identify two sites with potential harvest mouse habitat but no recent records of this species.  I’ve been given my home square, SJ58, and have already found some suitable habitat at a site near Warrington:

potential harvest mouse habitat

This is a huge site so I’d like to have lots of helpers come and search with me please ! Watch this space for survey dates in November, to be fixed once I have my second site sorted out.

Comments are closed.