Toad patrol at Moore Nature Reserve (2015)

The rangers at Moore Nature Reserve are dedicated types and every year put in the effort of leading toad patrols on the road which runs through the reserve.  In a “good” year, hundreds of toads have been rescued and deposited safely at their breeding ponds.  Before the toad patrols were introduced, dozens of toads were getting run over 😦

It’s a short season and I was only able to join in on one night because of other commitments, but I’m pleased to say I helped rescue about 15 toads – and one smooth newt – and met some lovely people also helping out.

Plus, any excuse to wear head to toe hi viz:

duckface

I really feel I have mastered the traditional duck face posture here (!)

If you would like to join in next year or find out about wildlife events at Moore Nature Reserve, check out their Facebook page or contact them using the details on their website.

Comments are closed.