Liverpool Botanical Society meeting, Dibbinsdale, Wirral

I do try to get round all my local botanical groups, but we are blessed with so many in my local area that I sometimes feel like the mythical member who clicks ‘like’ on the Facebook page but never actually turns up in real life!  So it was really nice to catch up with friends in Liverpool Botanical Society and enjoy a visit to Dibbinsdale Nature Reserve at the same time.

oak coming into leafDibbinsdale is a marvellous sort of place with ancient woodland, wetland, meadows, streams and lots of paths throughout for you to explore.  The vascular plant flora is outstanding and there is plenty to see bryophyte-wise as well with ancient woodland and sandstone exposures of particular interest.  Not only that, the site has water vole and is home to several species of bat.  I wouldn’t be surprised if there were harvest mice, too, as there are some fairly recent records for the area.

2015-04-25 12.03.04 (800x450) 2015-04-25 12.25.57 (800x450)

bryophytes on tree trunkmarsh marigoldscliff covered in Conocephalum conicum

I hope to visit again soon and maybe bring a bat detector with me this time 🙂

Comments are closed.