Acrocarps workshop

This is the partner workshop to the British Bryological Society’s Pleurocarps workshop which I attended back in November.  This time our tutor was Sharon Pilkington of Wessex Bryology Group and our mission was to understand and identify acrocarpous mosses with the aid of our microscopes and Sharon’s many samples collected over the course of the last year.

2016-01-23 14.24.04 (800x450)Highlights of the weekend include not being able to even *find* Ephemerum moss in a moss packet labelled Ephemerum.  Yes it really is that small!  And it was there, I just needed to look harder.  I managed some decent leaf sections at last after making moss salad on many many microscope slides.  I found errors in two of my textbooks 😦  and I really learned a lot.

2016-01-23 11.36.04 (800x450)

Comments are closed.