North Wales Plant Group at Caergwrle

This was a lovely meeting involving old and new friends and a trip to a most scenic castle.  And some bryology 🙂

Sorry to say that I don’t have any pretty pictures, though, as I have been too busy recording plants on the two occasions I’ve been here!

We recorded 28 species (plus homework), all common plants of woodland in acid upland situations, it stayed dry and I think everyone had a nice time.  Win.  Species of the day was Pseudotaxiphyllum elegans because it was looking plush and lovely and on closer inspection had lots of the characteristic long filaments in the leaf axils – very helpful for ID.

From the BBS Field Guide

From the BBS Field Guide

Here is a website with some nice pictures of the castle and environs to make up for my lack of photos.

Comments are closed.